Attack on Titan, kinda sucks.

attack-on-titan-tribute-game-03-700x393Attack on Titan is one of the most popular anime series of all time and is certainly the most popular in recent years (next to SAO). With the second season currently airing in Japan, I’ve decided that Joe would be a great time to talk about my feelings on the series as a whole. As a side note before we get into the thick of things I have not read the manga and as such will be focusing on the anime only.

As popular as this series is I had never seen it until a few weeks ago, to get ready for the new season (so I could be in on the conversation). But what I found was a bland, kind of a predictable mess of a series that (believe it or not) I didn’t enjoy, at all.

One of my biggest problems with AOT is its colour palette. shows aesthetic sensibilities do not line up with mine. You see, I like colour in my anime. Hence why I’m such a big fan of Mahou Shoujo series like PreCure and Cardcaptor Sakura. As seen in the photo above the series art style of ATOT is incredibly… brown. Everything in this series melds into one another, as the character designs are prominently brown, as are all the backgrounds. Even the Colossal Titan has this problem (having a brownish tint). This makes everything hard and boring to look at.

Another huge problem I have with AOT is that it just feels like gore for the sake of gore. Now I need to remember while criticizing the series that it is a shounen and as such ran in Bessatsu Shounen Magazine. This means that it is a series aimed at teenage boys, so of course, it would have a bit of gore as to appeal to this demographic. But just because it’s a shounen series does not excuse this. You can tell a dark story without the gore being there just for shock value (which it is). Take for example FMA: Brotherhood. This series is considered by many to be one of the best anime of all time (although not me personally). It tells a dark, mature, and intriguing story, even though it doesn’t rely on gore or shock factor. AOT seems to want to be a mature, dark, and intriguing series like FMA but falls flat because of this crutch of gore.

As well as this the characters in AOT suck. In a good story of this nature, you’re supposed to care is something bad happens to these characters, but I don’t give a single shit about any of the characters in Attack on Titan. Eren (the main character of the series) is a boring character whose motivation is to avenge his dead mother. This motivation can be done well but in this show, it is not. A good character with this motivation is Bruce Wayne, Batman. The reason why these two characters with the same motivation are so different is quality is because where Eren is very one note (“I will avenge my mother by committing genocide”) Batman evolves over time, sure his dead parents are still his main drive, but he starts to care for other people, not just his selfish need to avenge someone long gone. This (for me) makes it impossible to relate, or even has a small bit of respect or admiration for Eren.

That’s just my opinion, but fell free to share yours in the comments, were I would love you to leave any criticism or thoughts! I’ll see you in the next one.

 

One thought on “Attack on Titan, kinda sucks.

Leave a Reply

